Enjoying the Summer Toddler Moon – from ecomii blogs

Wow! I guess this is my twin or something! Read on:

When I was 7 months pregnant, I was throwing up everyday. I mean not just everyday but like, three to four times a day. That’s right. It was about equivalent to what and when I ate. My little baby womb was not having it. Not even crackers or water. I took nausea pills everyday and they sort of helped, but not much. It was like 9 months of motion sickness and drunkeness beyond parallel of any sailor. To make matters worse, I was living in Sacramento with my mother-in=law. Of course, it had to be Summer, too. When I did get a chance to take in the moon, it was a moment of ecstasy beyond description. I was serene. I was peaceful. I wasn’t barfing.

I had edited a national magazine, freelanced and ghost written for years and now it had come to pass: the childbearing years were upon me. All I can remember now are hot flashes, backaches, wobbling, puking, migraines, and not being able to eat anything. I was ready for Winter, and her birth, to arrive.

Skip a leap, and she’s already almost 3. Okay, she’s really 2.5. Actually, she’s 31 months. Who’s counting and how, really? We do everyday. We count apples and bananas. We count crackers, cups, socks, shoes, fingers, toes.

But what we like to do most under the moon is read. Read stories or tell stories that stem from an idea, or an inspiration. We talk about what those mean, too. I love Jamie Curtis’ book on those “Big Words” that little ones LOVE to use properly, or not so properly.

Our other most favorite activity to do under the moon is to “moonwalk” in the backyard garden. We talk about what we see and describe it. A sort of “I Spy” game. We also talk about what we see in the night’s sky, what the weather’s like, the day we had, shapes we see, colors, count things, and then count some more things.

When it’s warm, we pitch a tent and sleep on the backyard lawn. If it’s really warm, we just throw down a tarp and some sleeping bags and quilts while we look up at the sky and dream. Summer time moonlite night’s are like that: dreamy. They get those story time inspirational ideas flowing. They’re great for sparking meaningful dialogue between you and your little tyke. A dialogue that molds a mind, shapes a future and creates a dream…

I am taking the time, as my collegue writes, to “enjoy the Summer Toddler Moon” months and years. They are so utterly precious and magical.

One thought on “Enjoying the Summer Toddler Moon – from ecomii blogs

Please leave a comment/prayer/message below...

