Summer Solstice Medicine Wheel

Last night, under the light of the still, almost Full Moon, in the smothering heat, I scurried around the backyard with the wheelbarrow gathering pieces of  bricks. I had a map of the medicine wheel that called for 40 bricks to make a complete wheel. I gathered around 30 and decided to alter the map and make a variation of the plan with my own backyard medicine wheel in mind. Here you see seven small bricks centered around the eighth center stone. This is the center of the wheel. I then placed bricks in the four corners of the backyard: North, East, South and West, at the edge and as far as they would go in those directions from the center piece of the wheel. As I completed the wheel and stood before it, in the place where the power stones should go, a gust of warm wind began and remained for quite awhile.

This morning my father gave me the news that his aunt, my grandmother’s sister, crossed over. On this Summer Solstice, I am celebrating her life, my grandmother and grandfather’s lives and my Sunday’s spent over there as a child. I remember feeding my aunt’s horses on those hot Summer days and running through their hay stacks, sometimes sitting on the barrels with my siblings under the penetrating sun awaiting our lunch grandma was cooking up. I loved sitting under the willow tree in grandpa’s garden and watching grandpa and my dad work together on planting, watering and weeding for the fresh vegetables we would get to taste with lunch. Those were days of enchantment, fairies and wonderland merriment.

Today, this medicine wheel takes on new meaning. It is rebirth, regeneration, rejuvenation and a celebration of life. It represents the change of seasons but also, a change of life, a change of time and a change of space. I look back with fondness at my yesterdays and now, for the first time in a long time, I look forward to the future with great expectancy and excitement. I can feel my ancestors in heaven supporting me on my path and making clear my way. I sense and feel their presence. There was a reason I was drawn to make this medicine wheel last night and my Aunt Novella had a lot to do with it. I thank you, Novella. I thank you Grandma and Grandpa. I thank you, Dad. I thank you, Summer Solstice and I thank you Full Moon. I bless this medicine wheel and will place three power stones there: one for Novella, one for Grandma and one for Grandpa. These stones will charge them with Divine Light and Love for their new life together, in heaven.

Please leave a comment/prayer/message below...

